a batch of cherry spoons

I’m still working away on the long cherry branch I found a couple months ago. So far I’ve made nine spoons out of it, and I should get four or maybe six more. Here are some I’ve made this past week. These range from about 7″ to 9″ in length.

cherry spoons

cherry spoons

My favorite piece here is the scoop. It looks like it just grew on the tree that way. I love the handle. The large spoon also has some beautiful grain patterns on  the handle that unfortunately don’t show very well in these photos.

Each spoon is finished with a few coats of mineral oil. I want to try some other oils. Mineral oil is nice and light and completely safe, but needs to be reapplied periodically (like a cutting board). Linseed oil, flax seed oil, walnut oil, and tung oil are other options. You have to be careful about using nut based oils for people with nut allergies, though.

My hands are sore and dried out from a few long carving and sanding sessions. I’m looking forward to working on something different for a while but will be back to spoons again soon. I want to play around with different bowl sizes and shapes on eating utensils. I think a lot of people would appreciate a nice wooden soup spoon as a present.

